but when you boil it all down…

I have cancer.  Wow.  That is one strange sentence to say about myself.  I’ve been many things in my life, but a cancer patient never even hit my “maybe sometime in the way, way out there future” radar.   I don’t even understand how this happened.  I don’t smoke, don’t eat much red meat, not around chemicals… have they found carcinogens in chocolate and I didn’t hear about it?

We did get an encouraging report today and I am so glad – but I’ve got cancer.  It’s very probably the kind that can be treated and cured or at least put in long term remission – but I’ve got cancer.  The doctor is very optimistic – but I’ve got cancer. I’ve got cancer.

My life has changed forever.

1 Hear me, LORD, and answer me,
for I am poor and needy.
2 Guard my life, for I am faithful to you;
Save your servant who trusts in you.  Psalm 86: 1,2

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “but when you boil it all down…

  1. Kim,
    I know how you feel. Ten years ago I was told I had cancer. Your life has been changed forever. I know the fear, and I know the unexpected joy that comes with it. Every moment in life now takes on a special “sacredness.” My prayers are with you and Sam. You will come to know God in a way you have never known Him before. You can rest in the Lord’s arms. He will see you through. We will be praying for complete healing. Much love, Barb Neely

    • Thank you Barb. You are so right in how I am differently experiencing God in my life now. There is a reality to his presence that is very different than what I have experienced before. I didn’t know about your diagnosis. I will pray for your continued good health.

Leave a Reply

