…but ugly goes clear to the bone

Today I was performing my morning beauty regimen.  The older I get, the more steps there are.  I’m up to five (really six but I call it five because one is a two-parter).  Exfoliant scrub, color and tone corrector, face tightener and eye tightener (one step, two products, right?) collagen lip therapy and collagen replacement moisturizer.  This is all before the makeup, the concealer, base, blush, eyeshadow, liner, mascara, lipstick and whatever else I need that day to hide as much of the real me as possible before the world is allowed to see me.

It’s a pretty good analogy for life.  Like a lot of other people, I have spent a lot of time trying to keep my life nice and pretty on the surface.  Pat everything into place and powder over the rough patches, before anyone can see that it isn’t just right.

And if you saw me today at my job, or on the street, you wouldn’t look at me and say, “Oh, look, I bet she has cancer”.  You wouldn’t even think I was sick.  Nothing on the outside gives a hint to the lurking, potentially deadly disease inside.

Again, I think that is pretty true about life as well.  I think many of us have painful, potentially destructive things inside that we keep well hidden behind a nicely presented image.  I know how much time I have wasted in my life doing just that.  What if I had done that with the cancer?  What if I had kept quiet and not let anyone know I had pain, kept a good face on things?  I wouldn’t have gotten diagnosed, I wouldn’t have gotten any help, maybe not until it was too late.   I don’t want to waste any  more time hiding or pretending about any part of my life.  I need to be me, who I am, and ask for whatever help I need. I hope I can also become a person who can see a little bit behind some of the “makeup” when a loved one has something inside that is hurting them.

Therefore confess your sins to each other and pray for each other so that you may be healed. The prayer of a righteous person is powerful and effective. James 5:16

Leave a Reply

