small packages

Today I had to return to the Cancer Center.  I’m starting to feel like I know the place already.  I saw “my” nurse, Heather, from Friday and we chatted for a few minutes.  She was glad to hear I hadn’t had any serious nausea.  I was pretty comfortable walking around, getting something to read, a glass of water.

However, where on Friday there had been a dozen or so patients getting chemotherapy, today almost every chair was filled.  Ken (the leukemia patient I met getting chemo part 2 on Saturday) had said there were 50 chairs in the chemo center.  I don’t know if that was exact or approximate but it looked about right.

I didn’t have more chemo today, thankfully, just a tiny little shot.  I honestly never felt it.  It’s to stimulate my white blood cell production so that my immune system doesn’t get so depleted by the chemo.  I had to stay at the Center for half an hour’s observation afterward.  About ten minutes into the observation period a sudden moderate headache struck.  I asked the nurse if this was coincidence or the shot.  She said the shot.   Now, seven hours and two pain pills later, I am lying in bed with my laptop and a raging headache.  I’m also to expect “severe bone pain” for the next two to three days.

I’m finding this kind of ironic.  Two days, probably 8 or 9 hours of chemotherapy, and no side effects.  One tiny little shot, and I am really kicked in the head.  I have yet to see about the bone pain.  Maybe it will skip me.   Maybe monkeys will fly …

While I was being observed, a woman came in for treatment, accompanied by a man and a small child a little over a year old.  This little guy was one of those toddlers that makes everyone who sees him grin.  Huge smile, big eyes, easy laugh.  The adults were obviously much older, and soon I heard the man talking to the child and referring to himself as “grandpa” and the woman as “grandma”.  The woman came back after a few minutes and they were comparing how the little boy acted in this place versus another hospital, so it seemed they had full-time care of him.  I don’t know what sad circumstance of life left this couple, probably well into their 60s, with a tiny child to raise, but they will be in my prayers tonight-  that there will be a Grandma there to tuck him in and make him cookies and help him with math and see him graduate.

I guess I’ll take the headache.  I don’t have that much to deal with after all.

2 thoughts on “small packages

  1. You & Sam are in my prayers daily. I’m also reminded so often of how good my life is & how blessed I am to be healthy. In my “Living Bible” Isaiah 41:10 says: Fear not, for I am with you. Do not be dismayed. I am your God. I will strength you; I will help you; I will uphold you with my victorious right hand. Isn’t that an awesome promise!

  2. How insignificant my life’s aches and pains become when I get a glimpse into the lives of others. God bless and protect you and those with whom you come in contact .

Leave a Reply

