good stuff

Today has been a really good day.

First, my headache has been progressively getting better.  Since it has been with me continually since Monday, I am very ready for it to improve, or even to leave.  Not that I’m generally inhospitable, but the headache has outstayed its welcome.

Next, my oncologist had great news for me at my checkup today.  All of my blood counts were good.  In fact, the white cell count was good enough that next time I do chemo, we are going to try skipping the white-cell-boosting shot that gave me the monster headache.   So this headache might be gone before my next chemo AND I don’t have to immediately get another one.  It’s like winning the lightning bonus round.

Then I went for lunch with a great friend.  We rarely get much time together, the schedules just don’t synch well, so when we do get to hang, we really enjoy ourselves.  She is one of those few people around whom I can actually be totally myself.  We talked and laughed and ate way too much soup and salad and breadsticks.   We encouraged each other immensely relating all the things that the Lord is doing in our lives, made each other cry, and somehow unintentionally showed up dressed alike.

Later I was honored and treated to be the very first person (outside the band) to see an absolutely amazing music video by one of the most talented bands around.  I don’t just say that because my son is in it, I say it because AP Magazine says they are one of the 100 best, (plus tons of other reviews that I won’t start quoting or this wouldn’t be my blog anymore, it would be their website.  Just look up  www.thefelixculpa.com)  I loved it and was so touched to be shown it first.

What else?  My best friends came over for dinner to keep me company while Sam is away for a little while.  Ceasar salad and baked ziti.  My daughter started a college course today and she’s still a senior in high school.   My brother and I had a long, fun blog comment/reply-discussion (he’s brilliant – I strongly recommend you scroll down to the post “you never let go” and click and read the comments and replies between Dave Haas and me.  However, comments are just like posts – the newest ones are at the top.  So scroll down and start reading with his bottom one. It’s worth it.)

So, I’m going to bed happy and smiling.  Nothing big, nothing amazing.  But what a good day.  Thanks for all the prayers and love, you guys.  Life is precious, life is sweet.

This is how much God loved the world: He gave his Son, his one and only Son. And this is why: so that no one need be destroyed; by believing in him, anyone can have a whole and lasting life. God didn’t go to all the trouble of sending his Son merely to point an accusing finger, telling the world how bad it was. He came to help, to put the world right again. Anyone who trusts in him is acquitted; anyone who refuses to trust him has long since been under the death sentence without knowing it. And why? Because of that person’s failure to believe in the one-of-a-kind Son of God when introduced to him.  John 3:16-18  The Message

Leave a Reply

