did i just say that?

Standard

Have you ever had one of those “I can’t believe I just said that” moments?  I have a tendency, for instance, when someone says “Have a great birthday” to respond with “Thanks, you too” and then realize I just sounded like an idiot.  But I do it again the next time, because it’s something that just comes out without thinking.

Today I was on the receiving end of one of those conversations.  I called our insurance company to check on some coverage, and at the end asked if there was anything else I needed to do as far as pre-certification for upcoming chemo.  The rep said “No, you’re all set for your chemotherapy.”  Then she ended with “Have a good time”.

I have to admit, (not being a saint, which I think we discussed yesterday), that my first response was something along the lines of  “Are you freakin kidding me??  Have a good time?”  Honestly, I was mad.  It took me a minute to realize that she was probably feeling like a total idiot and wishing she could suck the words back into her mouth, just as much as I ever did, and probably worse.  So I called my sister, who is my sister by birth but my friend by choice, and told her the story… and we laughed and laughed.   “You’re all set up for chemo – have a good time”.

Maybe you had to be there…

Leave a Reply

