wigging out in public

Today was my first day at work in the new wig.  Yesterday was my first time going to church in it, and I was much more nervous than I expected to be.  Saturday after we did the whole buzz cut I wore it to the mall with a great friend from work, but somehow that didn’t make me as nervous.  Probably because the mall was total strangers, and work and church are the centers of my interactive relationships.

Yesterday at church went great.  I got lots of supportive comments and compliments, but I still couldn’t help wondering in the back of my mind if it looked obviously like a wig and everyone was being kind.  Then I ran into a wonderful lady who has been praying for me, but doesn’t get my blog.  She was so happy to see me, because she had just been wondering who she could ask about my condition.  I told her I was doing great, and that the day before had been “goodbye hair day”.  Her eyes got big and she said, “That isn’t your hair?  I thought you were just wearing it different!”  Bless your darlin heart – you made my day!

Today I thought I would keep there from being any awkwardness when I came into the office.  Everyone knew that Saturday was going to be “the

might surprise some clients at the law office

day”, so they were coming in ready for a wig.  So I thought it might be fun to wear a WIG.  I went to a local novelty shop and bought the gaudiest, craziest, rainbow-colored feather wig they had.  The funniest thing about it was everyone loved it.  They thought it suited my personality.  Hmmmm… is that a compliment or not?

Of course I didn’t leave it on, I changed into the real wig.  I never realized how itchy those things were.  I keep sneaking my fingers up under the elastic and scratching my stubble, but I’m sure that doesn’t look too ladylike, so I try not to get caught.

Something else I found interesting, timing-wise, was that my man, Chuck Swindoll, was preaching this morning on the radio.  Ok, that wasn’t interesting, he does that every morning.  But he was preaching from I Peter 3:3-4  Your beauty should not come from outward adornment, such as elaborate hairstyles and the wearing of gold jewelry or fine clothes. Rather, it should be that of your inner self, the unfading beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which is of great worth in God’s sight.

That’s what I really want to remember.  There’s more to walking this journey than just being ok with not having my naturally curly red hair.  It’s not only about letting go of what’s outside, in fact it’s much more than that.  It is about nurturing and loving and letting God develop the beauty that he can create on the inside.  That’s all that’s going to last anyway.  Whether it’s cancer, old age, or a speeding school bus, no one makes it out of life alive.

What a God we have! And how fortunate we are to have him, this Father of our Master Jesus! Because Jesus was raised from the dead, we’ve been given a brand-new life and have everything to live for, including a future in heaven—and the future starts now! God is keeping careful watch over us and the future. The Day is coming when you’ll have it all—life healed and whole.  I Peter 1:3-5

One thought on “wigging out in public

  1. Hi Kim…. its wonderful to see your spirit!! I loved your last line that says “no one makes it out of life alive” how true!! I just thought of letting you know of a great product called Evocapil, to decrease the itching on the scalp. Hope it helps. God bless you.

Leave a Reply

