top ten things about losing my hair to chemotherapy

Top 10 things about losing my hair…

10. I probably won’t be approached by strange elderly men as much. Something about the red curls just attracted octogenarians. Once in a checkout line an old man said to me, “Turn around here.” Startled, I did, and he said, “Yep, the eyebrows match. I just had to see. That’s my favorite hair color.”   Even a few weeks ago at the Cancer Center an old – and I mean seriously old- man in a wheelchair wheezed out “Looking good, red!”

9. Huge savings on hair care products. I hope that Garnier Fructis is still in business when my hair grows back, because they are going to feel the loss of all the money I gave them every month, that is for sure.

8. Lots of extra room in the bathroom cupboard. This one is purely theoretical.  I assume that once I get all the hair care products that I no longer need cleaned out, there will be lots of extra room.  However, I hate to throw them away, and I don’t really know anyone with the right type of hair to use them.  So, there they sit.

7. I’m finding out how great I look in hats. Too bad they aren’t in style at all, but I can’t have everything.

6. I can wear a scarf as a head wrap to match any outfit. Too bad they are even less stylish than hats.

5. I no longer have to clean a small poodle out of the drain after a shower. My hair always fell out easily anyway, and it was so disgusting getting it out of the shower.  Ewwww.

4. No more smelly, messy hair dye.  (For a while.) Yes, I admit it,  I helped it out.  Seriously, do you think I got to be this age with no gray hair?  Thanks, really, thanks VERY much if you did… but no.

3. I can wash my hair in the sink.  With a washcloth. I was surprised that I still need to use shampoo and conditioner, but Becky at Image Recovery said the scalp needs it.  Obviously the whisker-like stubble doesn’t.  It’s a little weird using the specially-for-color-treated-curly-hair shampoo on a washcloth to scrub my nearly bald head, but it’s what I have and it should last a year or so at this rate.

2. I can wash my hair in the sink.  No, IN the sink. I can whip it off my head and pop it in a sink with a little shampoo, like I did this afternoon.  No conditioner.  Pat dry “like a silk blouse” Becky said.   Let air dry on the stand.  Much easier than the old hair.

And the number one best thing about losing my hair….

1. NO MORE BAD HAIR DAYS!!!!

A cheerful disposition is good for your health; gloom and doom leave you bone-tired.  Proverbs 17:22

5 thoughts on “top ten things about losing my hair to chemotherapy

  1. Oh, Kim… I can only hope that you got half as many laughs as I did from tonight’s post. I mean, really! Do you read back and simply crack yourself up?

    ❤ you.

  2. Thumbs up for Kim!! I’m so impressed with your positive attitude & you are doing a great job of writing. I’m hoping others who have cancer will read your blogs & be encouraged by your perspective on this journey. Hang in there & keep smiling, you’re always in my prayers. Love Ya, Viv

Leave a Reply

