second week after chemo

My oncologist (who is amazing, by the way) told me that after a round of chemotherapy I would feel a little tired but not too badly the first week, then quite a bit worse the second week, then start to feel pretty normal again the third week, getting strong again for the next round, three weeks after the first.

My second round of chemo was one week ago today.  This last week has been pretty good.  I have been tired but certainly functional, going to work and then coming home and resting.  I have had some mouth sores and sore throat but it has been better than the first time (thanks again for the Melaleuca mouthwash, mom, it works!)

Today I had an appointment with my oncologist.  I was in the car on the way to the hospital and suddenly I felt like someone had opened a  drain and let all the energy out of my body.  My throat hurt a lot more, my back and chest started to ache, and I just felt generally not good.  One week after chemo, right on time.   These doctors know what they’re talking about.

So, there’s nothing really wrong with me, no sickness in addition to the cancer, I just suddenly feel lousy from the chemo.  And that is to be expected, so I can’t complain about it.  How can I ?  It’s saving my life.

A couple of good news items – although my white cell count did drop a little from the last chemo, it’s not enough that Dr. G is going to give me the Neulasta shot that caused the week-long pounding headache.  As long as I don’t develop any infection and it doesn’t drop more, we are good.  Also the liver enzyme numbers are normal at this point.

And, on a fun note, in two days, I had three total strangers and one regular client compliment my hair!  None of them would know it was a wig, so it must be working for me.  Dr. G liked it so much she suggested I keep wearing it after my hair grows back.  Obviously she has never worn one or she wouldn’t say that – it itches like crazy.  But it was nice to hear that it looks ok and not “wiggy”.

Pray for me this week if you would.  If I continue feeling like this, I will need it.   Even if I don’t, I always need it.  Thank you all of you wonderful supporters.  You mean the world to me.

Bless the Lord, O my soul, and do not forget all his benefits—who forgives all your sins and heals all your diseases, who redeems your life from the pit and crowns you with love and compassion, who satisfies your desires with good things so that your youth is renewed like the eagle’s. (Psalm 103:2-5)

Leave a Reply

