let me tell you about my husband

Standard

I know that I have been incredibly blessed.  I have so much support and care – and cancer aside, I am still surrounded by loving, wonderful people who make my life full and happy.  I also know that even if I was unfortunate enough to not have the friends and family, the Lord would give me strength and send people as I needed them.   I can trust him to supply all my needs.

The biggest blessing, however, God’s most wonderful way of supplying my needs, is my Sam. I have long ago given up wondering what I could have done to deserve someone like him, and accepted it as grace – an undeserved gift from God. I could say all the typical things like how he is kind, loving, sweet, caring…

But I’d rather tell you how he rubs my back when he can hardly stay awake. Or makes me homemade soup when my throat hurts so much that I can’t eat hard food. How he does things for me and spoils me when I really can do things for myself, just because it makes him feel like he’s taking care of me. How he takes off work to take me to chemo when there are friends who would drive me, because he knows that his presence makes me feel safer and happier than anything (even though I tell him he doesn’t have to.)

I’d rather tell you about how he calls me every day at lunch time just to see how I’m doing, and sends me text messages just to make me smile. How he does whatever amount of housework he needs to do without complaint or grumbling, but lets me do what I can so I don’t feel like a burden or an invalid.  How he leads us in devotions at  night and prays with such sincerity and  simplicity, and then is the silliest, funniest guy with the most outrageous sense of humor I know.   Then there are the times I glance at him, and he is looking at me like I am something  inexpressibly cherished.  No one has ever looked at me like that.  It melts my heart.  He keeps me laughing and smiling, and feeling safe and protected, and so very loved.

I realize how much God has blessed me, and now in going through cancer, I see even more than before what a blessing he has given me in my husband.   This is the person God prepared to walk by my side through this journey.  Thank you Father!   And Sam – thank you too, my love…

Husbands, go all out in your love for your wives, exactly as Christ did for the church—a love marked by giving, not getting. Christ’s love makes the church whole. His words evoke her beauty. Everything he does and says is designed to bring the best out of her, dressing her in dazzling white silk, radiant with holiness. And that is how husbands ought to love their wives. They’re really doing themselves a favor—since they’re already “one” in marriage.  Ephesians 5:25 MSG


Leave a Reply

