good news about jason

Standard

I heard this morning that my friend Jason’s surgery went well and he is doing fine.  If you need to catch up, Jason had surgery Friday for a brain tumor that was on his pituitary gland.  It was pressing on his optic nerve, between two major arteries, so he was understandably anxious.  The surgery itself sounded extremely unpleasant to me – they go in through the nose, cracking the sinus open and entering the brain that way.  However, all went well, and in a few weeks time he should be back to his old crazy self.   Thank God, his tumor is benign, and all he has now is just recovery from the surgery, and no cancer treatment.

Since I have been diagnosed, it is almost bizarre how many people that have either told me they are themselves cancer survivors, or have relatives that are survivors, or are in treatment, or lost their struggle against cancer.  It touches everyone.  I feel almost strange in that I have had so little exposure in my own life.   Within the last few years I had an uncle who had a very brave battle with leukemia and did finally go home to Jesus, but that has been the only real knowledge of cancer I have had – and that was at a distance.  I’ve never been there like Sam was when his father was sick for so long, in pain and unable to eat solid food.  I’ve never had to sit by someone and watch them die, day by day.   I’ve never experienced the loss of a parent or a spouse, like so many others.  This disease goes everywhere, touches everyone.  I still have trouble believing I have it sometimes, because it has never been part of my life.

Still, for some reason, God has chosen to allow this path for me at this time.  And as I have said before, Sam and I have known from the beginning that it is for his glory.   Maybe the fact that I haven’t had these experiences is good – I don’t have the fear and the pain associated with them to affect my current journey and my trust in what God is doing.  I don’t know.  All I know is that this is where I am now, and I want it to be used to help people know how amazing and loving and good God is – that when he says he’s holding your hand, and you don’t have to be afraid, then you can just rest and relax, because you don’t have to be afraid.

So, what do you think? With God on our side like this, how can we lose? Do you think anyone is going to be able to drive a wedge between us and Christ’s love for us? There is no way! Not trouble, not hard times, not hatred, not hunger, not homelessness, not bullying threats, not backstabbing, not even the worst sins listed in Scripture.

None of this fazes us because Jesus loves us. I’m absolutely convinced that nothing—nothing living or dead, angelic or demonic, today or tomorrow, high or low, thinkable or unthinkable—absolutely nothing can get between us and God’s love because of the way that Jesus our Master has embraced us.  Romans 8:31,35,38,39

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

