you learn something new every day

Today at work I met a couple who were both chiropractors, opening a new business.  They came to us to do all the legal stuff, and as the lady doctor filled out paperwork, the gentleman doctor chatted with me.  He was young and very enthusiastic about his work, and wanted to know if I saw what he called a “health doctor” or just a “sick doctor”.  (Ow – somehow that makes him sound like a jerk and he wasn’t.  He was nice, just really into what he did.)  I told him I had seen chiropractors at times in the past but wasn’t seeing one now.  He asked a couple more questions and I finally said, “Well, currently I’m seeing an oncologist.”  So of course we talked a little about cancer and chiropractic, and he invited me to their grand opening with the great discount for initial consultation (anybody who lives in my area, it really is a good deal, ask me about it.)

But he said something that I never knew before and it really got me thinking.  He said that all of us, all the time, have cancer cells in our bodies.  When we are healthy, our immune system keeps them under control.  When something goes wrong so the immune system isn’t able to do that, they start to form together and grow.  I never knew that.  I thought you had cancer cells or you didn’t.  He also said that it takes years – something like six to twelve, I think he said but don’t quote me – for cancer to form and grow enough to be detectable.  All that time it is inside, growing, becoming dangerous, becoming deadly – and nobody even knows about it.  And it happens because something breaks down in the functioning of the immune system.

It made me think about life.  So many things in my life have been like that.  I seemed so fine on the surface, but underneath something was broken down, not functioning right – and that allowed another problem to grow and become destructive.  Whether it was anger or unforgiveness or guilt… it took a long time to reach a point of real danger, but it happened because something wasn’t working right to keep it from growing.

For me, I’ve learned that the only way to keep my emotional/spiritual/mental “immune system” up and healthy is to keep in the Bible and in prayer.  Not because it’s a thing to do or a rule, but because God’s thoughts are really different from my thoughts, and my thoughts can become less than healthy.  I need to keep truth in my head and heart, not my own ruminations of what I’ve done wrong or what wrong has been done to me.  As I read and think on and pray about God’s word, it counteracts the cancer cells of my selfishness and human weakness.  And thank God for that!

Summing it all up, friends, I’d say you’ll do best by filling your minds and meditating on things true, noble, reputable, authentic, compelling, gracious—the best, not the worst; the beautiful, not the ugly; things to praise, not things to curse.   Philippians 4:8  MSG

 

Leave a Reply

