keep on dying

Standard

I didn’t go to work today.  I just felt too lousy – I was in pain everywhere, in my joints and in my stomach and chest and back.  It was one of those days when it’s just very easy to get discouraged and down.  So once again I had to remember why I was feeling so bad, and what was making everything hurt.  The chemo is working.  Cells are dying.  And that means the cancer cells are dying too.  Keep dying cancer cells, keep dying.

Just like in my life – it’s not easy for the bad stuff to die off.  It hurts.  It takes time.  Along the way I get tired and discouraged.  But I know that the old me is continuing to die, and I just need to keep turning to the Word and strengthening the new me, the one without all the garbage and decay.

I no longer live, but Christ lives in me. The life I now live I live by believing in God’s Son, who loved me and took the punishment for my sins.  Galatians 2:20

God is the one who began this good work in you, and I am certain that he won’t stop before it is complete on the day that Christ Jesus returns.  Phil 1:6

“He himself bore our sins” in his body on the cross, so that we might die to sins and live for righteousness; “by his wounds you have been healed.” I Peter 2:24

Therefore if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creature; the old things passed away; behold, new things have come.  II Corinthians 5:17

Keep dying, bad stuff.  Bad stuff in my body, bad stuff in my mind, in my spirit… I don’t want you.  Yes, it will be hard.  The alternative is much worse.

 

 

Leave a Reply

