God is the rain shower

I am rejoicing today, first because I am feeling pretty much normal again and don’t need pain meds (yay!), and also because of a wonderful email I received from a long time friend.  It blessed my heart so much that I asked her if I could share it here.  She writes so beautifully, and her story is so uplifting and touching.  She wrote it about my post titled “walking through the fire”.  (Beth, my dear friend, thank you for your email and allowing me to share it here.  I miss you and hope we can have sun-drenched, laughter-filled breakfasts again someday.)

My Kimmy,

I read your post for today. Your title intrigues me. Let me share with you a verse that got me through one of our most difficult times.

Isaiah 43:2 When you pass through the waters, I will be with you; and when you pass through the rivers, they will not sweep over you. When you walk through the fire, you will not be burned; the flames will not set you ablaze.

That verse has come to mean more to me than most others. About seven years ago, our son was badly burned in an explosion – 50% of his body. He fought for his life. I will never forget what he said to me when he returned from one of his skin grafting surgeries … ‘Mom do you remember that movie we saw – the one with Jesus – where they whipped him and whipped him and whipped him until his flesh tore – I know how He feels.’ He was referring to The Passion directed by Mel Gibson.

I came across Isaiah 43:2 during my son’s hospitalization. It was a very difficult verse for me to accept. The Lord promised the flames would not burn, yet I daily witnessed his charred skin and his desperate fight for life. In the end, the Lord kept His word and we kept our son.

Whispers of that summer still haunt me time to time. When it does, I thank God for the precious gift of life. I will never fully escape the tremor of fear when danger knocks on my door; but asking God for strength and confidence sees me through the moment.

Yes, testing is like walking through fire. God is the rain shower that extinguishes the flames!

Your predicament swells with Sam’s job loss. No matter how large that mountain looms, don’t lose hope Kim. There’s ledges for resting. The summit awaits – the view is breathtaking!

Love you,
Bethy

 

2 thoughts on “God is the rain shower

  1. There are tears on my cheeks after reading this blog – tears of joy that your life is back to “normal” for a couple more days, and tears of understanding after reading Beth’s blog. Sometimes the pain of being “the Mom” can be so real. Only God can keep us from falling apart in these instances. Thank you, Lord. Bless you, Beth. Love you, Kim. . .

  2. I am so happy to read that you are feeling “back to normal” today–that is such good news!! Thank you for keeping us all updated on how you are
    doing, and keeping us connected to you, so we remember to keep lifting
    you up in prayer. Love you SO much!! Aunt Patti

Leave a Reply

