spring!

Winter is past, the rain has stopped; flowers cover the earth, it’s time to sing. The cooing of doves is heard in our land.  Fig trees are bearing fruit, while blossoms on grapevines fill the air with perfume.  Song of Solomon 2:11-13

Its one of my personal favorite holidays – the first day of spring.  It’s certainly not one of the biggies – there are no decorations or cards or gifts, but it’s one I look forward to with great delight.  For one thing, it means I have survived another winter, and for someone with fibromyalgia, getting another winter over and done with is cause for celebration.  But even more so, it is the beauty of new beginnings that thrills me.  My poor husband has to deal with a twitterpated wife for weeks as I bounce with excitement at new buds, leaves coming out, green grass, and the ultimate excitement – flowers!  The early spring flowers are like a drug to me.  I can’t get enough and I never get over how much I love seeing them.  After the unbroken bleak color deprivation of winter, the explosion of green and yellow and pink and orange is almost more than I can take.  Just writing about it right now has me so impatient for the beautiful tall privet hedges behind our house to come into leaf, so that it looks like we live in a private little forest, and the tulips all around the neighborhood houses to pop up.  And the daffodils… oh, the daffodils!  There is nothing in the world more cheerful.  They are like sunshine on a stalk.

C.S. Lewis once wrote that God knows that we have both the need for change and the need for constancy, so he created rhythm, such as the seasons.  We have such wondrous variety and beauty in the difference between a glistening frost-coated morning reflecting the sun, and a warm, green hillside under a July sky, and the intense colors of the turning of the leaves in autumn.  But we also know that each will return, in it’s appointed time.  God gives us so much to see, to understand his character, his creativity, his love of beauty and wonder.  

I’m learning rhythm in my own life as well.  I’ve gotten to understand that the first couple of days after chemo, I will sleep a lot.  Then will come the sore throat and mild nosebleeds, but otherwise I won’t feel too bad until about one week after.  For the second week I’ll feel pretty rotten, then I’ll start to rebuild toward being ready for another round – but I will have to have shots for my blood count, so I will have to deal with those side effects.  The more I know what to expect, the easier it is to cope with.

The other thing I really love about spring, is that it is always a new beginning.  Old things are passed away, behold, all things become new!  Everything seems possible.  God is the God of new beginnings.  He will give us spring every day, if we will just let him.  New buds of knowledge and beautiful flowers of his grace want to burst forth daily.  I know in my life, it is just important to keep the ground clear of rocks and weeds – not to let unforgiveness or bad attitudes or sin that I want to hold onto take root and choke out those beautiful colors of spring in my life.

The LORD’S lovingkindnesses indeed never cease, For His compassions never fail. They are new every morning; Great is Your faithfulness.  Lamentations 3:22-23


One thought on “spring!

  1. Wow! Well said, Kim, well said. ♥ My heart is blessed as you expressed yourself so eloquently. Love & many blessings to you.

Leave a Reply

