the kindness of strangers

Standard

I got a package in the mail today.  In it was a beautiful handmade knit cap, a handmade bead bracelet (the beads are colors that stand for different types of cancer) and a great card with baby chicks wearing sunglasses that said “Thought you could use some warm fuzzies.”  The fantastic thing about it was it came from someone I have never met.  Several weeks ago I got a beautiful package of two caps and a matching scarf from someone else I haven’t met.  Both of these wonderful women know my mother, and love her enough to want to help her daughter.

cute new cap!

 

To me, something like this is like getting a gift straight from the Father.  Someone who is kind enough to open their heart and take time and effort to hand make a gift and mail it to a stranger, is sending the love of God in a padded envelope through the US mail.  Honestly, I wish I was that sort of person, but I’m not.  I have the thoughts to do things like that, but not the follow-through.  I don’t even send cards to my own family nearly as often as I think of it.  I text, and call, and Facebook – all easy and immediate things.  But someone who spends time and puts in work has my admiration and appreciation.

Little things like that can lift my spirits so much.  I get inspired to try harder to do the little things for others, to make that difference in their lives.  Even the little compliment, happy comment, random act of kindness, can make someone’s day better.  I experience it so often – I want to remember to give it as much as I receive it.

So, chosen by God for this new life of love, dress in the wardrobe God picked out for you: compassion, kindness, humility, quiet strength, discipline. Be even-tempered, content with second place, quick to forgive an offense. Forgive as quickly and completely as the Master forgave you. And regardless of what else you put on, wear love. It’s your basic, all-purpose garment. Never be without it.  Colossians 3:12-14

And as a random act of stuff that makes me smile – I’m sharing a picture that was emailed to me today.  My parents, playing like kids, on a swing tied to a 300-year-old tree.   That is a picture of love to me.

One thought on “the kindness of strangers

  1. Jerri Thompson

    Treasure the photo of the folks! My mom is on the verge of needing full time care in a memory unit which will separate her and dad for the first time in over 60 years. Love the PINK cap!!! You are such a good writer, Kim.

Leave a Reply

