beautiful day

I don’t have anything amazing to say today, certainly no news like the last couple of posts.  It was a glorious day here – high 70s, bright sunshine, nice breeze.  Flowers popping up  all over, forsythia bushes in bright yellow bloom, some early  crabapple trees flowering.  And best of all, I felt good all day.  My bone/joint pain was down so much that I didn’t take one  pain killer all day, and I’m starting my “good week” as far as the  post-chemo goes.  I’ll be good until Friday, other than the sore  throat.  It’s amazing what feeling not-good does to make one  appreciate feeling good.  It becomes something truly special and exciting, and to be treasured.

We went apartment hunting – the people that are buying our house want us to move out, can you imagine that? – and found one we love.  It’s only a couple of hundred square feet smaller than our house, and it doesn’t feel like an apartment on the inside.  It has a large living room with LOTS of light, which is huge for me – I can’t stand the feeling of being in a dingy dark box.  And the most amazing thing – it has a real kitchen.  Not a galley or a pass-through, but an actual kitchen, with a huge window over the sink, and room for a small table if we want, although there’s also a dining nook off the living room.  And the really great part? It’s directly across the street from my office.  I can walk to work.  So we filled out an application and are prayerfully hoping to get the place.

I’ve been thinking about this new job of Sam’s.  It’s going to take him out of the house a lot of evenings and weekends.  Not my favorite idea, I’m kind of hooked on the guy.  But, I have had an awful lot of people suggesting that I should be writing something, so I’m wondering if God is providing me some time to do just that.  The question is, what should I be writing?  I am way open to suggestions – in fact, if you would all be so kind as to go to the “leave a comment” section and make a suggestion, it would be a tremendous help!  What would you like to read about, if I was to write it?  What do you think I might have to say, if anything?

I would like to leave this hodgepodge of a post with this thought – God is good all the time.  It’s easy today to say “Oh, God is so good.  Sam got a job, our house sold, my tests are good, I feel great, we found an apartment we love…”  But God isn’t good because circumstances are easy or happy.  God is good because he is God and it is his unchangeable nature to be good.  He can be nothing else.  God was just as good and loving and kind when Sam was out of work, and my pain levels were high, and we didn’t know what we were going to do financially.  He was just as in control of the situation.  We didn’t see the answer, but he did, and all we needed to do was trust that, and trust his character.  The sun never stops shining, even when the clouds block our view of it and the rain pours down.  God never stops being good.  We need to change our viewpoint from “God is good when my life goes well” to “God is good all the time, and when my life is going badly, that’s when I need most to hang on to that fact and focus on his character, not on my circumstances.”

God proves to be good to the man who passionately waits, to the woman who diligently seeks. It’s a good thing to quietly hope, quietly hope for help from God.
It’s a good thing when you’re young to stick it out through the hard times. Lamentations 3:25-27 MSG

Ok, done preaching for today.  Hope everybody is loving the daffodils and the irises and the crocuses (croci?) as much as I am.

5 thoughts on “beautiful day

  1. To quote Terrance mann from Field of Dreams…”The one constant through all the years, Ray, has been baseball. America has rolled by like an army of steamrollers. It has been erased like a blackboard, rebuilt and erased again. But baseball has marked the time. This field, this game: it’s a part of our past, Ray. It reminds of us of all that once was good and it could be again.”

  2. I think you should write on whatever you are lead by God to write about. You are a fantastic writer and have a true gift for that. Of course if you were writing for me based on what I want to read, it would be about something timeless, romantic, and brings millions of people together….Baseball 🙂

  3. Kim – first of all I’m SO happy for all that has been going good for you, starting with the scan & white count up etc etc! Ifeel too that Sam has been led to this job for a reason, both of you have such great testimonies to share! Praying that you’ll find the right apt, this one sounds terriffic. I also still think you could write a book to help others going through cancer treatments. It must be SO scary to get that diagnosis. God will lead you to what He wants you to say, I know.
    Love Ya Viv

Leave a Reply

