what a weekend

Let’s see.  Since Thursday, we’ve moved, had my last chemo, gone to a wedding, moved in to the “livable with boxes to unpack soon” stage, gone to church, and Sam has worked.  Oh, add in about a million errands that all have to happen when you move, run this here, pick that up there.  And we are waiting for our third visit from the cable guy.  Apparently the cable connections in this building are old and don’t work well (this according to the cable guy).  One would think that the cable company would want to keep them in good condition rather than deal with repair calls, but, they didn’t ask my advice.

We had an amazing speaker at church this morning.  Actually he was there tonight too and tomorrow will be as well, but because of Sam’s work schedule we only got to hear him this morning.  He is a former Islamic terrorist, and did he tell it straight.  He started out with “Do you know how to define a peaceful religion?  A peaceful religion is one where if you were to burn their holy book, they would pray for you. ”  His story of becoming a Christian after being an active terrorist is a truly moving one and I was so blessed to hear him.  One thing that he said that spoke to me so deeply, even though it was an amusing statement, was “We want to plant a seed and then see fruit immediately.  Seeds have to germinate and grow, and sometimes that takes a pile of manure dumping on them.  For some people it is a whole LOT of manure.  But God uses all of that, all of the garbage that gets us to where we realize how much we need him.”  I personally have some people very dear to me that I so want to see bloom and produce fruit, and what I see is manure.  It may be manure of their own making or manure of circumstance around them, or some of each.  But hearing it put that way brought tears to my eyes while the congregation was laughing.  I can see hope in the stink now.  It’s heavenly fertilizer.

I got this verse this morning about 5:30 when I couldn’t sleep.  I must have read it many times before but today it suddenly hit me.  How important and how freeing!

Since Jesus went through everything you’re going through and more, learn to think like him.  Think of your sufferings as a weaning from that old sinful habit of always expecting to get your own way. Then you’ll be able to live out your days free to pursue what God wants instead of being tyrannized by what you want.  I Peter 4:1-2

2 thoughts on “what a weekend

  1. What timing to hear him speak on the day that our country found Bin Laden. That must have given you goosebumps as well. I would love to hear what he has to say today.

    • I thought the very same thing. I would have loved to have been able to go back for the Monday service but Sam’s job has such irregular hours and we only have one car now. I’m sure it was fascinating. I’ll hear about it soon.

Leave a Reply

