it’s a little thing

Standard

Yeast, too, is a “small thing,” but it works its way through a whole batch of bread dough pretty fast.  I Corinthians 5:6

That verse has been on my mind a lot lately with this staph infection.  It continues to amaze me that one sore toe can make me feel so sick, exhausted and miserable.  I have slept most of the last two days, hardly been able to eat, gotten completely exhausted as soon as I have been out of bed more than a few minutes, and been unable to accomplish anything.  It’s been a great example of what this verse is talking about.  A small bit of something bad can permeate and take over.

A little infection has taken over my body.  A little dishonesty can overpower an otherwise good character.  A little selfishness can undermine empathy and kindness.  A little insecurity can stop dreams and ambitions.  A little fear of what others think can overpower good judgement.  A little enjoyment of the fun of wit and sarcasm can win out over the knowledge that I should say only things that build up.

If I had let this go much longer, it could have spread into my leg, become cellulitis and become much harder to get rid of.  The same goes for these little things in life.  If I watch closely, they can be caught and stopped.  But if I let them go too far, they are much harder to get rid of.  They get entrenched.  Like yeast, they get worked through the whole loaf of who I am.  It’s pretty hard to get yeast back out of bread.  I can’t do it, and I can’t get the bad out of me.  Only God can do that.  But I’m responsible to watch myself and not let this stuff run wild, and bring it to him when I see it starting.  And to use his word against it, to make myself strong and to renew my mind with the good, to overpower the bad, to think like Jesus and not my own selfish and ungodly way.  That’s the medicine against the infection of the heart.

2 thoughts on “it’s a little thing

  1. Thanks Kim.

    I dropped a can of peaches on my big toe one time, years ago. I’m talking one of those honking cans of peaches. I could not BELIEVE how miserable life felt with a sore toe. When you mentioned a sore toe – just thought of that event.

    I like the way you put this. I can’t say it any better. So… thank you for these words.

  2. Ronnie Gatley

    Isn’t it amazing that it seems to be the little things in life that get us down?! The big things we always seem to handle. I wonder why that is. In a emergency I can do anything. I can keep focused and get done what needs to get done. I remain calm, cool and collected. Of course talk to me the next day and if you’re lucky you may get a response or you may get a look that says it all. But break a fingernail or get a zit before a night out and its the end of the world! In the present moment we know what we can do and handle and our true else’s come through loud and clear. It’s nice to know how strong we truly are. Little, big we’ll make it through. Can’t fail with God as our guide. God is Good

Leave a Reply

