garmin

Standard

I happen to be the only person I know who has gotten lost following a Garmin.  Ask my daughter, she was there.  I have an absolutely dyslexic sense of direction.  I have now done laundry three times here at this apartment building – that’s three sets of putting laundry in, changing laundry to the dryer, and getting laundry from the dryer – nine trips in all – and I have turned the wrong way into the wrong hallway each and every time.  Check with me next December.  I’ll still be turning into that hallway.

My dad got a fake Garmin for a gag gift.  It was pretty hysterical.  It starts out sounding pretty much like a normal one, “Turn left ahead”, but soon gets pretty annoyed with the driver.  “Not that left, your other left!  Where did you learn to drive?”  “Are you always this difficult?”  “Are you even listening to me?”  There are times I think our Garmin might start to say the same things, because Sam will go the way he thinks is best, making her “recalculate” over and over till she catches up with his idea of how to get where he’s going.

For the last few weeks I’ve been kind of stuck in I Peter.  I just keep going back over and over it, particularly in The Message, Eugene Peterson’s brilliant paraphrase of the Bible.  And I have to say, it reminds me a lot of a Garmin.  It gives clear, step-by-step directions for life.  How to get “there” from “here”.

Here’s a great one, just as simple as “in 300 feet, turn right.”

       Summing up: Be agreeable, be sympathetic, be loving, be compassionate, be humble. That goes for all of you, no exceptions. No retaliation. No sharp-tongued sarcasm. Instead, bless—that’s your job, to bless. You’ll be a blessing and also get a blessing. 
        Whoever wants to embrace life and see the day fill up with good, Here’s what you do: Say nothing evil or hurtful; 
Snub evil and cultivate good; run after peace for all you’re worth.  God looks on all this with approval, listening and responding well to what he’s asked; But he turns his back on those who do evil things. 1 Peter 3:8-12

And just like with our Garmin, I have gotten good and lost sometimes, turning left instead of right, or missing the U turn entirely.  Sometimes I’ve been like Sam (with the Garmin), choosing my own way and expecting God to recalculate according to my plans.  The amazing thing is, when I realize that once again I’m lost and ask for help, he’s right there to show me the way.  And it’s always so simple.  Turn to the right.

4 thoughts on “garmin

  1. Dawn

    We’ve had the garmin lady recalculate so many times before that she just stops talking to us completely for a while.

    • LOL… that’s funny. She’s never done that but she sure sounds annoyed with me sometimes… I swear the 4th “recalculating” is in a different tone than the 1st one.

  2. grace haas

    The Lord, your God’…..will rejoice over you with gladness, he will renew you in his love; he will exult over you with loud singing. Zephaniah 3:17 (NRSV)

Leave a Reply

