may 21

Standard

By now, even those living under the proverbial rock have heard.  The world is supposed to end tomorrow.  It’s been on the news.  This morning CNN was running a long segment about it.  There’s a billboard not far from our apartment that reads in huge letters “JUDGMENT DAY – MAY 21, 2011″.

Personally, I don’t think it will happen tomorrow.  Mainly because Jesus said “But about that day or hour no one knows, not even the angels in heaven, nor the Son, but only the Father.  Be on guard! Be alert! You do not know when that time will come.” (Mark 13:32-33).    (Check out Matthew 24 and 25 also, Jesus tells several stories to illustrate how he will come back suddenly and people will not be expecting it and be unprepared.)  I don’t think God changed his mind and decided to reveal it all to one radio preacher.   But that’s just my opinion, of course.

One thing I found interesting on TV was a poll asking people “If tomorrow was the end of the world, what would you be doing today?”  The answers ranged from financing a luxury car the person could never afford, to maxing out credit cards, to just lying back and getting drunk.  But overall, boiled down, the answer was “If tomorrow I knew I was going to stand before Almighty God, holy and just, and answer for my life, I would spend today being even more me-centered and materialistic than I have been up until now.”

I think that people gave answers that they thought were funny, because they didn’t really take the idea seriously.  However, I  read an article about people who do believe the world is ending tomorrow who are spending all their savings before then.  Seriously?  “Come on, honey, there’s only three days left.  Go buy that Rolex!”

The thing is, although it probably won’t be 5/21/11, it will be sometime.  God has made it really clear in his word that he has a timeline, and there is an endgame.  He has given prophecies of what to watch for, so we can be prepared, and everything that needs to happen, has happened.  It could be tomorrow.  Or Sunday.  Or next week, or next month.

I have to say that personally, I hope it’s not that soon.  There are people who I love deeply that aren’t ready.  My heart breaks and trembles every time I think of that.  My answer to that poll, if I had been asked, is if I knew for certain this was the last day I had, I would spend every second of it trying desperately to convince each of them to accept the gift of forgiveness God offers so freely, and make sure their hearts are right with him.  I would plead and beg.  But I am so afraid they won’t hear me.  So since I do believe there is at least one more day, I continue to pray and wait for God to lead me.  And plead and beg God to reach them.

What would you do, if it was tomorrow?

 “Now learn this lesson from the fig tree: As soon as its twigs get tender and its leaves come out, you know that summer is near.  Even so, when you see all these things, you know that it is near, right at the door.  Truly I tell you, this generation will certainly not pass away until all these things have happened. Heaven and earth will pass away, but my words will never pass away.

     “But about that day or hour no one knows, not even the angels in heaven, nor the Son, but only the Father.   As it was in the days of Noah, so it will be at the coming of the Son of Man.  For in the days before the flood, people were eating and drinking, marrying and giving in marriage, up to the day Noah entered the ark;  and they knew nothing about what would happen until the flood came and took them all away. That is how it will be at the coming of the Son of Man.   Two men will be in the field; one will be taken and the other left.  Two women will be grinding with a hand mill; one will be taken and the other left.

    “Therefore keep watch, because you do not know on what day your Lord will come.    But understand this: If the owner of the house had known at what time of night the thief was coming, he would have kept watch and would not have let his house be broken into.    So you also must be ready, because the Son of Man will come at an hour when you do not expect him.   Matthew 24:32-44

Leave a Reply

