it got up and went

Standard

This is me being honest again.  I have a confession to make.  I have been struggling with one of my worst qualities this week- procrastination.  I just haven’t felt much like doing anything, including writing.  I have things I should do, I have good intentions, but I don’t get to them.  Yesterday Sam worked till 9:00 at night and somehow I still didn’t get the snack made for this morning’s Community Group before he got home.

Some of it is that I’m tired, but really, I’m feeling better all the time.  I’m not as tired as a few weeks ago.  I still need to rest every day, but I’m getting closer to normal.  I think part of it is that I’m a little down after going home last weekend.  It’s so wonderful to go and be there, but it’s so hard to leave.  It seems like I only get a few minutes with everyone.  It’s a tiny appetizer after not eating all day, a 10 minute nap after being up all night.  It’s something, but it only makes me want more.  Most of all I want my daughter.  I’m sure I’m having the most difficulty separating from her because it is so hard to connect when we aren’t together.  We do great in person but she seems to be very out-of-sight, out-of-mind, and it’s pretty tough to keep any decent communication going.  So when we’re together and have some happy, good time with each other, it just makes me feel all the more cut off from her when I’m hundreds of miles away and don’t know when we’ll talk on the phone or connect.  I miss her.  I miss everyone.

So being a little sad is making it hard for me to get motivated.  I intended to get some of the remaining boxes unpacked this weekend while I was home and Sam was working.  I did run a few errands, but I did a lot of procrastinating, resting and telling myself that I had plenty of time.  And now it’s 5:00 Sunday afternoon, the weekend is gone, and so is the time.  I guess it’s a good thing there was nothing truly important that I needed to do.

I’ll try to write more regularly.  BTW, my 7-year-old grandson’s teacher in his gifted program just started him on algebra.  I’m impressed.   http://thefourthstar.xanga.com/749880118/omg-math-genius-alert/

2 thoughts on “it got up and went

  1. Hey, Kim – I know how you feel; it seems like you weekend with us was over in the blink of an eye! But it sure was fun, and I love the memories. I’m glad you don’t feel you HAVE to unpack another box or whatever just because it is there to be done – getting your strength back is more important than any of the other stuff, and it will still be there when you get around to it. 😉 Just take your time and rest when necessary so you feel good when Sam is with you. That is your most important “job” right now.

    Love you so much.

    Mom

Leave a Reply

