storm warnings

Standard

Last night I was waiting for Sam to finish work.  He was on a 12-9 shift, and I was just chillin out in bed watching some TV when Sam called and asked me if the tornado sirens were going off in our area.  (They were where he works and all the employees had been moved to shelter.)  Once he asked, I noticed, yes, yes they were in fact going off and had been for a minute or two.  I just hadn’t been paying attention.  (Remember the post where I said they were taking my ADD medication away?)

So I grabbed a book, since I didn’t know how long I might be in the shelter area, and headed downstairs.  Our apartment building has a hallway underground that connects the two sides of the building, and that is the only windowless underground area, so it is the obvious shelter.  Our building is also totally inhabited by college students and college-aged kids.  I can call them kids now because I’m over 50.

These kids divided into two groups – the ones in the shelter, and the ones having a storm-watching party on the front steps.  There was beer and much laughter.  The shelter group sent someone upstairs for more beer at one point.   Interestingly, the outside group was the girls and the shelter group was the guys.  So here’s the picture – a bunch of college guys, with their bottles of Bud Light (I believe), having a great time – and me, in my zebra pajamas and pink fuzzy robe, bald headed, sitting on the floor of the hallway with my Bible study book.    Let’s all sing- One of these things is not like the other, one of these things just doesn’t belong….

After it was all over, one of the girls, who has become very friendly with us, came over to check on me and see if I was all right.  I thought that was really sweet and thoughtful.

The whole incident really made me think about what is going on in the world, though.  I am convinced we are drawing very close to the return of Jesus.  (Forgetting the May 21 debacle.)  Warnings are going out and have been – pastors, teachers and individuals are letting people know that the time to accept the free gift of forgiveness through Jesus is now, but they are not being heard, or they’re being laughed at or ignored.  Like the tornado that devastated Joplin, the time will come without warning and then it will be too late.

Most importantly, I want to remind you that in the last days scoffers will come, mocking the truth and following their own desires.  They will say, “What happened to the promise that Jesus is coming again? From before the times of our ancestors, everything has remained the same since the world was first created.” I Peter 3: 4-5 nlt

When the Son of Man comes again, it will be exactly like the days of Noah.   In the days before the flood, people were eating, drinking, and getting married until the day that Noah went into the ship.  They were not aware of what was happening until the flood came and swept all of them away. That is how it will be when the Son of Man comes again. Matthew 24: 37-39

Leave a Reply

