women of faith

Standard

I spent today at Women of Faith.  If you aren’t familiar, it’s a traveling program of speakers/music/presenters that makes its way around America annually.  I’ve gone the last two years but didn’t expect to attend this year for financial reasons, and was thrilled and blessed when a wonderful friend gave me a ticket.

I woke up this morning with a cowlick on each side of the top of my head.  I have red hair.  Now, I’m all for natural and everything, but no way was I going to Women of Faith with red devil horns!  So, I soaked down the hair and fought the cowlicks.  Today is the first time that I have had those two particular cowlicks.  Wouldn’t you know it.

Women of Faith has a wonderful worship team of four women who sing like angels (or at least like the cliche we use of “singing like angels”, since I have no clue what angels actually sing like. For all I know they sound like a pipe organ or a guitar, or something I can’t even imagine.  As long as it isn’t rap, I’ll love it. )  There is something about worshiping with thousands of women that is very different than worshiping at church.  The feeling of all of those voices, all of those hearts, raised together in praise, lifts me up and draws me in at the same time.  There is a oneness, and an ability to lose myself in the worship and not worry about what anyone else thinks, because I’m just one tiny person in such a huge crowd.

I got to hear the daytime speakers, but before the session began in the evening, I ended up going home.  Another migraine.  Sigh.  Oh well, I’m going to sleep well and work hard at being ok tomorrow for the majority of it.  The speakers I did hear, Patsy Clairmont and Andy Andrews, were definitely worth sitting there with a headache.  Funny and wise and insightful and practical.  Patsy Clairmont is like the terrific goofy next-door neighbor on a really funny TV show, except she’s a real person – who loves Jesus and has lived intimately with him and talks about him in real life, not in “religion”.   Andy Andrews is totally ADHD – he never stopped moving, all over the stage, in the aisles, up and down the steps- he even kept interrupting himself!  But he was fascinating and full of things I needed to hear.    I am looking forward to tomorrow.  Without a headache.

One thought on “women of faith

Leave a Reply

