the powers that be

Standard

i have no idea what i was writing about last night when my computer ate my blog.  i know i wish i could talk to the people at wordpress, or at Toshiba, whichever one is responsible, and tell them that they need to fix this, and fix the way the cursor jumps to the middle of another sentence while I’m typing.  Like just now.  I typed “fix this” and then when I typed the word “and” it appeared in the middle of “Toshiba” like “Tosandhiba”.  Frustrating.

This started me thinking about other things I would like to tell the people in charge, if I could.  I’d love to tell the phone people that after I hear someone’s voice mail message, I don’t need another message from the phone company telling me how to use voice mail.  (“To leave a message, start speaking after the tone.  To leave a callback number…”)  It’s 2011.  We all know how to use voice mail.

I’d like to tell the people who do the skin care ads, of course those women don’t have age spots or under-eye circles.  They’re 18 years old.  (and the computer just put “18” in the middle of “company” in the above paragraph.  Sigh…)  If you want me to spend $65 on some anti-aging stuff, first show me a picture of a woman old enough to drive without a probationary license.  Let me see clear perfect skin on somebody who remembers how we played music before there were iPods.  Then I might believe it.

I’d like to tell the people who make conditioner samples that nobody can tear those little packages open in the shower with wet hands.  Nobody.  And if you use your teeth you’re likely to get a mouthful of conditioner, which is not desirable.  And no one I know keeps a spare pair of scissors in the shower for just such occasions.

I’d like to tell every architect in the world – make more women’s bathrooms in public buildings!  Have you ever seen a line for a men’s room?

I’d like to tell all the restaurants that the reason so many people order water is that the restaurants charge more for a glass of Coke than the grocery stores do for a 12 pack, and if they would go back to a reasonable price, more people would order pop, they would sell more, and not need to charge ridiculous prices.

Gas stations: see above.  Oil companies ditto.

I’d like to tell mothers who continue to shop, oblivious to their kids who sit in the cart crying and begging for attention, to step up, stop making their kid and the rest of the store miserable.  Little kids have short attention spans.  Expecting them to sit and “be good” for hours doing nothing is just setting them up to fail and setting you up to snap at them.

I’d like to tell parents I hear yelling at their kids that they are stupid or terrible or monsters or brats, that they have no idea the damage they are doing, or the amazing gifts they are totally overlooking.  Someday it will be too late to undo the harm.  Someday comes quicker than anyone thinks.

I’d like to tell TV producers to get some imagination and stop subjecting people to cheap and cheesy “reality” shows about people A) sleeping together; B) Yelling at each other; C) Abusing little kids in the name of pageants or show biz.  There’s some other shows I don’t get (like watching an exterminator or a wild hog hunter) but there’s nothing wrong with them, I just don’t know why anyone watches them.  But my husband doesn’t know why I will watch women shop for wedding dresses.

Of course, I’d like to tell everyone that if they just listened to me and did it my way, everything would go much better.  And I’m sure there are some people who would like to tell me the same thing.   But the thing that I am learning is that doing it my way has never really worked.  Doing it God’s way really does, when I don’t try to follow a bunch of rules, but I just walk with Jesus and love him and concentrate on being close to him.

So here’s what I want you to do, God helping you: Take your everyday, ordinary life—your sleeping, eating, going-to-work, and walking-around life—and place it before God as an offering. Embracing what God does for you is the best thing you can do for him. Don’t become so well-adjusted to your culture that you fit into it without even thinking. Instead, fix your attention on God. You’ll be changed from the inside out. Readily recognize what he wants from you, and quickly respond to it. Unlike the culture around you, always dragging you down to its level of immaturity, God brings the best out of you, develops well-formed maturity in you.  Romans 12:1-2  MSG

Trust God from the bottom of your heart; don’t try to figure out everything on your own.  Listen for God’s voice in everything you do, everywhere you go; he’s the one who will keep you on track.  Don’t assume that you know it all.   Run to God! Run from evil!  Proverbs 3:5-7  MSG

3 thoughts on “the powers that be

  1. Jean

    Are you typing your blog on a laptop? My laptop sometimes does that when my hand moves across the touchpad.

    In the UK we have a new season of ‘Big Brother’ (don”t know if you get that in the US) starting tonight with a celebrity version. People here get so sucked into watching this and you can guarantee that whatever happens in it will make the front pages of the newspapers. I however instead of wasting hours of my life watching z list celebs sleep will be spending time with my children/husband crafting.

    • Yes, I am on a laptop. Maybe that’s it, I’m touching the touchpad. It drives me crazy. My mom and my husband say I should write it in “Word and paste into my blog, but somehow that doesn’t feel like ‘real” blogging.

      We do get Big Brother here. It is not a show I have ever gotten into. I do admit to being a Survivor junkie though.

Leave a Reply

