home where i belong

Standard

I spent a few days visiting my family back in Illinois/Wisconsin this last weekend.  As always, it was a ying-yang of joy and sadness – loving the time with everyone and treasuring every moment, yet knowing how short it would be and how soon I would be leaving.  And yet all the time I was there, I was missing Sam so much, and counting the days till I was back home with him.

It’s funny.  When I go back to visit my family I say I’m going home.  But when I return to Omaha, I say I’m coming home.  If home is where the heart is, then I have homes in Illinois, Wisconsin and Nebraska.  Not to mention a vacation home in Cozumel, but I digress.   Wherever I am, I am enjoying the people I am with, but missing someone else.

In a bigger sense, my life is like that.  Whatever is happening, I am content, but wanting more.  I’m content because I know that God has his hand on my life and I can trust that what is happening now is in his plan – but I want more, because I know that there is so much more for me.  More to do, more to learn, more to experience.  More people to talk to.  More words to write.  More of God to know.   And although this is home, there is a home yet to come that is beyond anything I can imagine.  I’m content now, but I know there is better coming.  I want better.  I want to do better.  I want to BE better.  And, I want to be with the One I love.

“Don’t let your hearts be troubled. Trust in God, and trust also in me.   There is more than enough room in my Father’s home. If this were not so, would I have told you that I am going to prepare a place for you?   When everything is ready, I will come and get you, so that you will always be with me where I am.  John 14:1-3

“No eye has seen, no ear has heard,  and no mind has imagined what God has prepared for those who love him.”  I  Corinthians 2:9

Leave a Reply

