don’t miss out

As I was brushing my teeth this morning, some Scripture came to my mind.

(Quick side note – Speaking of brushing my teeth; when did toothbrushing become a “thing” in the media?  I feel like I can’t turn on a TV or go to a movie anymore without having to see somebody mumbling dialogue with foam running out of their mouth.  It totally grosses me out.   Or even worse, the couple toothbrushing at the same sink, spitting over each other’s heads.  Can I just say eeeeeewwww?)

Anyway, back to what God was trying to say to me.   It was a couple of verses I very much needed because I’ve been struggling for a few days. While I was getting ready for work (that’s a nicer mental picture), these verses came to me:

We’ve been surrounded and battered by troubles, but we’re not demoralized; we’re not sure what to do, but we know that God knows what to do; we’ve been spiritually terrorized, but God hasn’t left our side; we’ve been thrown down, but we haven’t broken. 2 Corinthians 4:8-9

So bad stuff happens: physically, mentally, spiritually and socially, but it doesn’t break me (unless I choose to let it).  I don’t have to have the answer, God does.  I can just trust him.

I don’t have to be a delicate flower that can only take a very precise combination of sunshine, water, temperature and breeze.  I can be rooted and grounded so that nothing can move me.  But the only way to do that is more intimacy with Jesus.  Sometimes I’m good at that, and sometimes I’m just good at writing about it.  I can go to church, and read my Bible, and have my prayer time, and write my blog, but none of these guarantees closeness to God.  That is a state of heart and mind.  Those other actions contribute and help, but I can do them all without getting any closer to God if my heart is not open to hear from him.  Or if I’m holding on to something he has been talking to me about changing.  Or if I have sin in my life that I haven’t repented of, or unforgiveness toward someone, or a “me-first”, self-centered attitude.

There are lots of barriers that can keep the Word and prayer from affecting my life, but every one of them is controllable by ME.  There isn’t one thing that can keep me from growing closer to Jesus daily other than things that I choose.  That is both a sobering and exciting thought.

I saw a great saying on Facebook recently.  It said “YES – I love God.  NO – I don’t want to shove it down your throat.  BUT- you’re sure missing out!!”  I don’t want to miss out.  I want to know Jesus.

Leave a Reply

