thankful part 1

I realize that this is kind of a crazy idea, but I thought I’d go right off the deep end and write a few posts about what I’m thankful for, being that it’s Thanksgiving season.

Up front, I want to say that I’m thankful for my family, my home, my husband and my church.  Those are kind of what I call the low-hanging fruit.  The top-of-the-head answers when someone is asked what they’re thankful for.  Now that those are taken care of, I’d like to get more specific.

Tonight, I’m thinking about how thankful I am for everything I’ve been through this year – particularly for God allowing my cancer to be cured.  Tomorrow I go for my six-month scans.  It will be my first PET scan since I finished chemo.  I wouldn’t be honest if I didn’t say that there was a little trepidation.  I expect to hear that there is still no cancer.  But I can’t say that the thought doesn’t cross my mind, “What if they find something?  What if it comes back?”  It will be a relief to have it done, and one more thing to be thankful for.

The prayers, love and support I (we) have gotten through this time have meant more than I can say.  I am truly thankful, and not just because it’s November.  This year has been one of more challenges than any other time in my life, but God has been not only faithful, but proven how true his word is, in using all things for good.

And for the truth of his word, for his power to use even and especially the worst circumstances to mold us into the image of Christ, for brothers and sisters in Jesus who hold us up to the Father, I am truly thankful.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

