post-thanksgiving ponderings

First, my apologies for not writing for so long. Now, onward.

This was the first holiday Sam and I ever spent apart.  A few days before Thanksgiving his daughter called and informed him that her Marine boyfriend was coming for Thanksgiving to meet her family, and she really wanted him there (of course).  So, he flew to Philadelphia.  I was welcome and in fact urged to come, but it wasn’t in the checkbook.  So, he went and we stayed in touch thanks to the wonders of text and cellphones.

Our original Thanksgiving plan was to continue what has become a tradition of spending the day with our best friends Mike and Marty.  So I went there and the three of us had a fantastic time.  The food was amazing – Mike cooked, and (sorry Mom) he makes the best gravy I have ever tasted.  Everything was way too good for me to worry about Weight Watchers, that’s for sure.  AND the Packers beat the Lions – still undefeated!!  Woo Hoo!  So a great day all in all.

I planned to spend Black Friday staying in and getting Christmas decorations up, but in the morning I got a call from my friend Nermin inviting me to her family’s home for breakfast.  They are from Jordan, and oh, my goodness, it was like Thanksgiving all over again only with food I never saw before.  It was possibly the best-tasting food I ever had.  There were homemade pitas that her father made that didn’t taste anything like store-bought pitas.  I am a very picky eater and don’t like a lot of things, and I loved everything, which really shocked me.  They were so sweet and welcoming, it made the day beautiful for me and altogether I was not very lonely at all while Sam was gone.  It’s amazing how God provides.

I did get some decorating done too, probably too much because now I am pretty sore.  This joint pain is  not going away and the fibro is starting, although it’s staying pretty low-key.  I’m sure the mild weather is helping, and that is such a blessing.  Thanksgiving Day was 70 degrees and sunny!  It felt like late spring.  I remember two years ago going shopping on Black Friday (mistake) and parking at the farthest spot out in the mall parking lot, struggling in through wind chill below 0 and sleet.  I liked this better.

I have more to say (sure, because I haven’t written for a week) but this is getting too long, so I will continue tomorrow.  I hope everyone had a blessed Thanksgiving – and most of all, took time to stop and truly realize all that we have to be thankful for.  Last year at this time there was cancer growing in me that nobody even knew about.  I’m so thankful to be alive, to spend time with my family, to hug my grandchildren, to love my husband, to enjoy 70 degree days and incredible new food.

Even though the turkey is reduced to leftovers in the fridge, it’s not to late to take a few minutes and be thankful.

 

Leave a Reply

