unending blessings?

Standard

Surely you have granted him unending blessings and made him glad with the joy of your presence.  Psalm 21:6

A few days ago I started thinking about something.  I even posted about it to Facebook but it went largely unnoticed.  I’m going to chalk that up to people being caught up in the Christmas bustle, not to my posts being generally uninteresting.

We talk from time to time about “counting our blessings”.  It’s one of those old-fashioned, corny sayings that is hard to say with a totally straight face.  It just sounds so Little House on the Prairie.  “Paw, I flunked the spelling bee and the barn burned down!”  “Now, Half-Pint, you need to just sit down and count your blessings.”

But I think the truth is, we live in a cynical society where it’s considered corny to be cheerful too often, where gratefulness for what you have isn’t an admirable quality anymore, because if you’re content and thankful, what would drive you to get ahead?

Around Thanksgiving I posted a couple of times about thankfulness, and appreciating what we have.  But I have really been thinking about this idea of unending blessings.  I watched a Powerpoint slideshow that started from an eye level view and zoomed out 10x each slide, going to a bird’s eye view, then a plane, a spaceship, a planet, etc.  It went far into space, then eventually came back to the starting point and kept zooming in 10x each slide, going smaller and smaller, microscopic, inside cells, inside atoms…  It got me thinking about how MUCH is all around us that we don’t pay much attention to, and from there I went to the concept of blessings.

Here’s the thought I ask you to ponder today.  How many blessings would you have if  you lost any that you didn’t  give thanks for ?

It’s easy to give thanks for the obvious – my home, family, job, food, freedom, health.  But – how about electricity?  Over Christmas I listened to my parents talk about how and when they got electricity into their homes when they were middle school aged.  I personally can’t imagine living with kerosene lamps, much less without my laptop, TV, microwave, dishwasher, washing machine, hot water heater… I’m getting cold chills.

What about sunshine?  If I had to live somewhere that was gloomy and cloudy and rainy all the time I would go totally bonkers.  I guarantee it.   Eyelashes!  After not having eyelashes, I am soooooo thankful for them.  I’ll never take them for granted again.

Flowers that are all different colors –  that is one of the biggest blessings in the world after a drab, dreary winter.  But so are huge, soft flakes of snow falling (as long as I am inside somewhere warm.)  And bending.  One of my mom’s best friends has a rod all the way down her spine.  She can’t bend at all.  I would most definitely miss bending.

Since I got this thought it has stayed with me, and I look at things (warm fuzzy blankets, not being colorblind) and think, “Oh, yes, I would miss this if it were gone.”  If I would, it is a blessing.  And since I haven’t come close to an end of things like that (gel pens that write nicely, Chris Tomlin music), so far, unending blessings are what they are.

What can you think of?

Every good present and every perfect gift comes from above, from the Father who made the sun, moon, and stars. James 1:17a

One thought on “unending blessings?

  1. Joan Harder

    I do not like your question, as I realize I have and do take most of God’s blessings for granted! But I kike your question as it has made me think of all those “little” things in life I just expect to be there always and do not give them a second thought! So thank you for expanding my thought process in “counting my blessing” each and every day! Had a great time last night and hope you are feeling better real soon!

Leave a Reply

