resolutions

It’s January, and that means mandatory resolution time.  Jenny Craig has upped their monthly advertising time by about a thousand percent.  I’m not sure who started this whole thing but I’d love to meet him and give him a good kick.  Ok, no violence, maybe just a “mom glare”.

Has anyone ever kept a New Year’s resolution?  Personally, I don’t remember ever keeping one longer than March, and that was the year there was money on the line.  (A “Biggest Loser” contest at the office I where I worked at the time.)  I’m sure there are some people who have made life changes and chosen the beginning of a new year to do it, but in general, I would guess that resolving to lose weight, stop smoking, get in shape, be more organized, or find Mr. or Ms. Right just because the calendar changes is not usually very effective.

So I was thinking about some different kinds of resolutions to try, and to share for consideration.

I resolve to:

Put up with people more and forgive more easily

Not worry about what other people think of me

Be agreeable, not complain and argue about things

Put other people first

Be more gentle

Be more joyful

Stop being caught in the past, and move forward

Do the best I can at my job every day

Not worry so much but remember that I can pray about anything that’s on my mind

Be more thankful

Keep my mind focused on positive, encouraging things

Treat people right

Live my life so that it brings glory to God.

I like those resolutions.  For one thing, they aren’t the kind where, if I mess them up once, I’ll say, “Well, guess that diet (or whatever) is over!” and quit.  They’re changes in thought, attitude, inner being.  I know they aren’t all or nothing.  I know they won’t change overnight, and I know I can’t make these changes myself.  I need help.  The kind of help that only comes from letting God change my thinking.  For another thing, these resolutions aren’t my idea.  They’re very old and from the best possible source.

Put up with people more and forgive more easily:  Put up with each other, and forgive anyone who does you wrong, just as Christ has forgiven you.  Colossians 3:13

Not worry about what other people think of me:   Don’t be selfish; don’t try to impress others.  Philippians 2:3a

Be agreeable, not complain and argue about things:  Do everything without complaining or arguing. Philippians 2:14  

Put other people first:  Be humble, thinking of others as better than yourselves. Don’t look out only for your own interests, but take an interest in others, too  Philippians 2:3-4

Be more gentle:  Always be gentle with others.  Philippians 4:5    Stop being bitter and angry and mad at others. Don’t yell at one another or curse each other or ever be rude. Ephesians 4:31

Be more joyful: Rejoice in the Lord always, again I say rejoice Philippians 4:4

Stop being caught in the past, and move forward:  Forgetting the past and looking forward to what lies ahead,  I press on to reach the end of the race Philippians 3:13b-14

Do the best I can at my job every day  Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not for human masters, Colossians 3:23

Not worry so much but remember that I can pray about anything that’s on my mind  Don’t worry about anything, but pray about everything.  Philippians 4:6

Be more thankful  With thankful hearts, sing psalms, hymns, and spiritual songs to God.  Col 3:16

Keep my mind focused on positive, encouraging things  Finally, my friends, keep your minds on whatever is true, pure, right, holy, friendly, and proper. Philippians 4:8    Since you have been raised to new life with Christ, set your sights on the realities of heaven, where Christ sits in the place of honor at God’s right hand.  Think about the things of heaven, not the things of earth. Colossians. 3:1-2

Treat people right   Each one of you is part of the body of Christ, and you were chosen to live together in peace. Colossians 3:15      So let’s not get tired of doing what is good. At just the right time we will reap a harvest of blessing if we don’t give up.  Therefore, whenever we have the opportunity, we should do good to everyone—especially to those in the family of faith.  Galatians 6:9-10        Therefore each of you must put off falsehood and speak truthfully to your neighbor, for we are all members of one body.  Ephesians 4:25

Live my life so that it brings glory to God.   Above all else, you must live in a way that brings honor to the good news about Christ. Philippians 1: 27     And now, just as you accepted Christ Jesus as your Lord, you must continue to follow him.  Let your roots grow down into him, and let your lives be built on him. Then your faith will grow strong in the truth you were taught, and you will overflow with thankfulness.  Colossians 2: 6-7   

What are some of your resolutions?

 


 


 

 

 


 

 


 

 


 


2 thoughts on “resolutions

  1. Happy New Year!
    I don’t really make resolutions but this year me and my husband are both reading ‘The Bible in a year’. It has already prompted some discussions between us (mostly on my part as he has done a theology degree) and I feel I’m learning new things every day – God is good!

  2. my only resolution,,,seriously, is press into Him!! That’s all, every time I have tried every thing else (my own effort) never ever worked. He has the power to change me, I don’t …

Leave a Reply

