goodbye for now

Standard

Yesterday this blog was one year old.  11,949 people have viewed it in that year, averaging just about a thousand views a month.  The single busiest day was January 30, 2011 with 226 views.  People have come to this blog from the United Kingdom, Germany, the Ukraine, Kazakhstan, Croatia, Zimbabwe, South Africa, Egypt, Nigeria, Brazil, Ecuador, Venezuela, Argentina, the Philippines, South Korea, Hong Kong, Thailand, Indonesia, Australia and New Zealand as well as the United States.  This is my 204th post.

The blog was started for a very specific reason.  When I got the diagnosis of cancer, I also got a clear and definite knowledge that this challenge was to be for the glory of God, but I wasn’t sure how God was going to use it.  The idea of the blog came to me – documenting the journey, both the physical and spiritual aspects, and letting it be “out there” on the internet for anyone to find.  It would be in God’s hands to use and bring people to as he saw fit.

I believe that it has accomplished what I intended.  The journey is over.  The cancer is gone (praise the Lord!)  My spiritual journey will never be over on this earth, but I have learned so much through this time and done my best to share it here.

At this point, I am going to take a break from the blog.  I don’t know if it will be short, long or permanent.  I do know that there are other areas God has been guiding me toward (a book being one) and I feel that this is a good place to stop.

If you have gotten any insight or encouragement from the writings here, believe me, it was the work of the Lord.  There were many times I went back and read an earlier post and wondered “When did I write that?”

If my readers take only one thing from this blog, my prayer is that it would be freedom.  Jesus said “You will know the truth and the truth will set you free.”  Free from what?  Interestingly, free from a couple of pretty opposite things.

Free from religion for one – free from trying to keep rules, and avoid making God mad, and do enough good things to make God let you into Heaven.  None of that works!    God saved you by his grace when you believed. And you can’t take credit for this; it is a gift from God. Salvation is not a reward for the good things we have done, so none of us can boast about it.  Ephesians 2:8-9  

And free from sin, for another.  When you have this saving faith in Jesus, you aren’t under the power of sin anymore, not the fear of the punishment of it or it’s power to make you do the wrong things.  So those who are believers in Christ Jesus can no longer be condemned. The standards of the Spirit, who gives life through Christ Jesus, have set you free from the standards of sin and death. It is impossible to do what God’s standards demand because of the weakness our human nature has. But God sent his Son to have a human nature as sinners have and to pay for sin. Romans 8:1-3

It’s as simple as this: The reward for sin is death, but the gift that God freely gives is everlasting life found in Christ Jesus our Lord.  Romans 6:23  

 So you will be saved, if you honestly say, “Jesus is Lord,” and if you believe with all your heart that God raised him from death.  God will accept you and save you, if you truly believe this and tell it to others.  Romans 10:9-10

Nothing is more important.  Goodbye for now.  Go with God.

7 thoughts on “goodbye for now

  1. grace haas

    As I read your final blog, and read all the sweet comments, my heart is filled with love, pride and thankfulness for you and your Christ-filled life. I know this has been a very different and difficult year for you, and I am so thankful for the wonderful outcome of your experience with cancer. Our God is good, all the time, and we praise Him for answered prayer. Keep following His leading, and we will keep praying for you and Sam. We love you so much, our dear daughter.

  2. vivian christopherson

    Thanks Kim for taking time to write, it has been interesting & inspiring to read about your journey. I’m sure there have been many who look at things in a different way now. You have good skills in writing, keep going! Always in my prayers.
    Love Ya – Viv

  3. Jean S

    Hi Kim. Just writing to say how sad I am that you’re blog is ending. I’ve really enjoyed reading it since I found it on Google back in July/August. I’ve found your words inspiring and totally agree that you should write a book based on your experience. I hope everything goes well for you in the coming months-you never know,you may miss posting online 🙂

  4. Cheri

    You’ve been an inspiration to many. And a fortunate handful of us have been able to travel your journey with you, and physically hold your hand as we do. I am so proud of you and how you faced this head-on, not having a “Why Me?” moment (well , maybe just one) but knowing that at the end of the hard-scrabble road there would be a reward. You make me proud to call you sister.

    I love you.
    Cheri

  5. I have so enjoyed reading your Blog & sharing in your life.

    I rejoice with you in Praising Him for all He has done.

    When we stand on the mountain top – It is so easy to lift our hands & smile. For others to see “us”.

    It is when we are in those valleys – When we are in the darkness of despair that others can truly see His Light if we allow it to shine in our lives.

    His Light radiates from your smile & surrounds your presence with His Peace.

    I am so Thankful to call you my friend.

    I will miss reading your encouragement, sharing in your frustration & literaly laughing out loud at your humor.

    You are indeed a Beautiful woman, Kim – Both inside & out.

    Love You ~ Judy

Leave a Reply

