am i a potato?

Standard

Lately, God has been speaking to my heart.  Often, I love it when I feel the whisper of God in my spirit, when he tells me that I’m beloved and accepted unconditionally, when he gives me verses like Isaiah 41:13 – “I, the Lord your God, hold your right hand and say to you, ‘Don’t be afraid; I will help you.’ ”

But for a while now, God has been nudging me and I haven’t been wanting to listen, or more specifically, to hear what he’s saying.  Basically he’s been telling me I watch too much TV.   A friend and I have already discussed specific shows that we each felt weren’t right for us, and made an agreement to stop watching them and be accountable to each other.

I admit, I like TV. But I’m also more than halfway through my best life expectancy, and I know I haven’t done everything God has for me – like write a book (actually there’s more than one) for one thing.  Here’s the thing.  I work on a computer all day at work, and when I come home, I don’t really want to get on a computer again.  I want to chill out, take a bath, read a book and yes, watch whatever I have on the DVR.  And when Sam gets home from work, we usually have a couple of shows we like to share together.  It’s hard to start up the laptop and get going again.  Although I like the idea of writing, I kind of like the idea of being finished writing even more.

But, there’s this bottom line – I can’t really ignore God for very long.  It just doesn’t work for me.  So today I came home, and although I didn’t work on my book, I also didn’t turn on the TV.  I did work for a few hours on my lesson for Community Group Sunday morning.  Then I watched Project Runway.

Leave a Reply

