where no man has gone before

Standard

A couple of weeks ago Sam and I, along with another couple, had a unique experience.  We were guests of a chef at an excellent restaurant, and had a five-course meal  prepared especially for us.  Most of what we ate was totally delicious.  Some was just unusual and interesting.  There was only one thing I didn’t like, a tiny cube of beet and cabbage gelee (when it’s expensive and classy jello, you call it gelee).    Say I don’t have refined taste if you like, but I just don’t think jello should taste like beets and cabbage.  Actually, I don’t think anything should taste like cabbage, even cabbage.

However, the evening was an adventure.  Every course was exciting, and nothing I would ever have thought of ordering.  Ever.  Except for dessert, which couldn’t have been more made for me if the chef had read my mind – it was every possible way to do something fancy and delicious with chocolate.

I am generally a very picky eater.  When I go to a restaurant, I have one thing (sometimes two if it’s a really great place) that I know I love there, and I always order it.  My list of what I won’t eat on a pizza is a lot longer than the list of what I will.  But when this opportunity came up, I decided to trust the chef and try everything.  If I had trusted my own normal way of thinking, I would have ended up with Jimmy Johns again.

So, because I tend to think this way, (as you may have gathered if you read this blog much), I started thinking about how this is like what God does for me.  When it comes to my life, I have a very small menu of how I think things should be, and a pretty long list of what I don’t want.  But God has an entire plan of things that I would never have imagined on my own, and if I am open to them and to him, my life will be an exciting adventure.  It won’t all be chocolate – but it will all be exactly what is good for me, and it will be a life of meaning and character, a life that glorifies God and puts others first.

One of the friends who was also at this chef’s dinner with us didn’t like much of the food at all.  And the thing is, the chef was preparing what he thought would be fun and tasty and interesting for us, but he didn’t know us or what would actually appeal.  He did well with three of four, which is pretty good.

But God is not guessing.  He knows exactly what will be right for my life, and it’s not the same as my friend’s life – or your life.  He has a plan for each person that is exactly for them.  It’s up to us to choose to trust his loving wisdom.

 God planned for us to do good things and to live as he has always wanted us to live. That’s why he sent Christ to make us what we are.  Ephesians 2:10

Leave a Reply

