I’m not making any of this up

I have a huge admiration for humorist Dave Barry who writes for the Miami Herald and has also written quite a few books.  One theme that has carried through his books is “I’m not making this up”  People write to him and enclose bizarre or funny news items like the town that had a dead beached whale and so they decided to get rid of it using dynamite.  It rained bloody chunks of whale for miles.  You can’t make stuff like that up.

.This week has been something I could not make up.

You may remember me saying that I decided to start writing this blog again on Tuesday, expecting to simply tell the story of Sam’s journey with his lung cancer, and also back up through my primary optic lymphoma and tell that story, of all the miracles God has done for me. And I will still do that. But, as I said, I decided to start writing this blog again after a 6 year hiatus, on Tuesday.

I had been told, for the third time, that I was in remission.  Less than three weeks after I was told that I was in remission, we got the news of Sam’s lung cancer.

Wednesday, I got the news that I was no longer in remission.  The cancer has returned to my eyes, and I will be starting shots on Monday.

Friday, I met with a neurologist, who diagnosed me with Parkinson’s disease.  I have been having symptoms for a long time, but never put them together to figure out that I have Parkinson’s.  The most recent thing was falling – I started falling somewhat often.  Sam encouraged me to go online and see what I could learn about the falling.  As I searched multiple websites, I realized I was seeing a pattern – many of my symptoms were being repeated over and over – hand and leg tremors, handwriting deteriorating, voice getting softer, mask-like face.  I came to suspect that my problem was actually Parkinson’s, and when I went to the neurologist on Friday he agreed and gave me medication to help control the symptoms.   It is treatable but not curable (where have I heard that before?)  I am hopeful that this medication will be helpful.  If not, there are other options.

As I said earlier, this has been quite a week.  I’m not making any of this up – I wish I was, it would be a great April Fool joke.  But I’m not.  What I am doing is very deliberately putting all of this into the hands of Jesus, where it is gently held and lovingly cared for.  I choose to believe that.  His Word is true.  I know that we will face trouble  – Jesus told us so.  But he had a wonderful addition to that warning.

I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.”  John 16:33

5 thoughts on “I’m not making any of this up

  1. Wow, you guys are on an incredibly difficult journey and I’m praying for you both. For what it’s worth, your blog is a tremendous ministry to me and I’m sure to others as well. Thank you sharing your real struggle and your real faith. God is good all the time. All the time….

  2. Kim. I just returned from Seattle. But while I was gone Donna gave me a little insight into your optic problem as well as the Parkinson diagnosis. I am speechless except for knowing that the great Creator, the King of Kings is still in control of our bodies, despite what secular humanism may say. I applaud your faith and strong will that you seem to manage so well for both you and Sam. However, in the middle of the night when loneliness seems to dominate and you feel like God cannot be reached…look up and began to plead the blood of Jesus and ask the Holy Spirit to both fill and comfort your temporary void. Sam was right…you a good writer. Blessings, David and Donna

  3. Now I am truly ashamed how I ranted and raved about the unimportant things in my life I felt were earth shattering just a few days ago. You and Sam through God have shown me what truly matters. Thank you.

  4. I love John 16:33! You and Sam have had “trouble” !! We will continue to pray for healing and comfort for both of you.

  5. Your trust in God and your faith in God will be your strength and grace. Continue to find humor, even if you have to dig really deep. . . . but also draw from the love of your family and extended family. We are praying diligently for you and Sam and love you both very much.

Leave a Reply

