Counting My Many Blessings

Standard

This week has continued to be amazing and surprising.

Monday was my first round of methotrexate shots since I was in remission in November. For anyone not familiar with the shots, I’ll give you the short version now- I intend to get farther into how truly awful it was before my angel Ann Bass came to my rescue.  Suffice for the moment to say that from Monday afternoon till Tuesday morning, I couldn’t see anything other than white blur. This was not normal.  Tuesday morning I woke to bright colors, but still slightly blurry, and still no ability to read the font on a computer or text on a phone.  What??  Two days without texting? This was really not normal!

But this morning I awoke with full eyesight and a heart full of praise, as I have had a privilege that very few get – I got to lose my sight for a short time and understand (a little bit) what that is, so that I can truly rejoice in the blessing of having my sight, even if it costs me some pain along the way.

Then on Tuesday, I got a phone call from Karen MacLemore, telling me that there was a scholarship to our church’s Women’s Retreat available for me.  If I was interested.  IF??  I had wanted to go every year, but I had always worked Friday AND Saturday, and couldn’t get the time off.  I happen to now be between jobs as the moment, but because of that, I knew we didn’t have the money for me to attend.  So when Karen called with this gracious offer, I was so pleased to be able to say YES! It’s Wednesday and I’m already packed, with my favorite snuggy sweater, snacks for my roomies (I don’t know any of them, and I want them to like me) and my iPad Bible.

I don’t know who was the kind and gracious giver of this scholarship, but I would like to say “thank you”.  Thank you for feeding into my soul and my spirit.  Thank you for helping me in the mission of our church: “More people, living real life, by passionately following Jesus”.  Thank you for feeding new thoughts and ideas and uplift into me that will overflow to my husband, my family, my small group, and so many others that I may not even realize that I touch with my life.  Thank you for your generosity and love.  It has been received with much joy, and when I am able, will be paid forward.

 

4 thoughts on “Counting My Many Blessings

  1. Daniel Smith

    Kim: Our prayers are with both you and Sam as you are walking along the cancer road once again.  We will pray that God will meet all your needs and continue to provide for you through all the ups and downs that I’m sure you are both experiencing. All our love,Carolyn and family

    From: “life, cancer, and other passing thoughts” To: dmsmith86@yahoo.com Sent: Wednesday, April 5, 2017 8:35 PM Subject: [New post] Counting My Many Blessings #yiv8920428776 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv8920428776 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv8920428776 a.yiv8920428776primaryactionlink:link, #yiv8920428776 a.yiv8920428776primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv8920428776 a.yiv8920428776primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv8920428776 a.yiv8920428776primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv8920428776 WordPress.com | kimlovessam posted: “This week has continued to be amazing and surprising.Monday was my first round of methotrexate shots since I was in remission in November. For anyone not familiar with the shots, I’ll give you the short version now- I intend to get farther into how trul” | |

  2. suschulte

    You are a remarkable woman, Kim. Thanks for sharing with us, and may you feel God holding you close as you and Sam go through what must be a very challenging time. You are a special pair!!

  3. grace j haas

    So wonderful to hear that you are feeling better after such a painful, frightening experience! God is good, all the time!

Leave a Reply

