Feet and ankles, toes and shins, (toes and shins)

Well, I told you I would get back to you on Thursday, and here it is Wednesday (ok, it’s the next Wednesday… picky, picky).  I will continue all the breathless information regarding me and my Parkinson’s and the shots in my eyes and all of that (including falling on the floor of the hospital and needing an X-ray) but not today.  Today is all about Sam – which I said in the beginning this blog was going to be, but then I had that crazy Dave Barry week.
So poor Sam took the back seat for a while, and I am not going to let that continue.  He is about halfway through his time between chemos, which is about when he begins to feel better.  Although, I have to say, I am very troubled by his response to the chemos.   He has a very sore throat, which is finally getting better (meaning he can eat some soft things instead of being purely on soup like he was for the better part of last week).  He also has a rash covering his entire upper body, and has pain in his feet, ankles, toes, shins and legs, sometimes so bad that he can’t have the blankets on his feet.  The skin on his feet has been literally peeling off and I have had to rub them with cream at night.  He has a big sore on his lower back.
Now the question is why am I telling you this?  Because Sam won’t.  He goes to work every day like he’s just fine.  He goes in and makes everyone believe that he is fantastic, that he has the best attitude ever. (Both true- but he could let down a little). He comes home and cooks dinner or buys it if I can hear there’s enough exhaustion in his voice, and now he won’t even let me clean up because of the tremors (another reason I like when he buys dinner – it’s just throw away). And then he collapses on the couch, done in.  And it breaks my heart.  I want to do for him at least as much as he’s doing for me, and I can’t.
My question is simple –  How do I support him and give to him when I am not physically capable of much at all?
Do not be anxious about anything but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving present your requests to God.  Philippians 4;6
One thought on “

  1. Do what you can, when you can. Sam knows that you would do more if you could – and YOU know you would do more if you could. Just support him as best you can. Love him. Talk to him. Tell him how much he means to you, and how much gratitude you have that he’s pushing himself so hard to make things easier for you.

Leave a Reply

